Friday, December 12, 2008

Atomic - Feet Music (Jazzland, 2002)

The collaborative group Atomic is one of the standard bearers of the Scandinavian jazz scene, playing fresh as paint modern jazz, scouting out the twilight borderlands between post bop and free jazz. Composed of Magnus Broo on trumpet, Fredrik Ljungkvist on saxophones, Havard Wiik on piano, Ingebrigt Haker Flaten on bass and Paal Nilssen-Love on drums, they are the who's who of the Norweigian and Swedish jazz scene. Their debut disc features well thought out ensemble playing at a variety of tempos, especially on the burning free bop of "Den flyktiga Magneten." The piano work of Wiik takes center stage on "Prayer" capably supporting the horns and then making a fine solo statement himself. Strong pianism also underpins "Fifth Cirlce" the dancing keyboard supported by agile drumming. Everything comes together on the disc ending blowout "Krilons Resa" featuring explosive trumpet and saxophone solos. Despite a number of powerful solos throughout the record, what makes this album and group so powerful is the potent group work effort.
Feet Music -

Send comments to: Tim