Friday, August 21, 2009

Vote for Change!

You can vote in the 2009 DownBeat readers poll here until August 24th. Not to overly influence you, but these were my choices:

Hall of Fame: Sam Rivers
Jazz Artist: Nels Cline
Jazz Album: Rudresh Mahanthappa - Kinsmen
Historical Album: The Complete Lester Young/Count Basie Sessions 1936-40
Jazz Group - Fieldwork
Big Band - Charles Tolliver Big Band
Trumpet - Charles Tolliver
Trombone - Robin Eubanks
Soprano Saxophone - Dave Liebman
Alto Saxophone - Rudresh Mahanthappa
Tenor Saxophone - Tony Malaby
Baritone Saxophone - James Carter
Clarinet - Chris Speed
Flute - Sam Rivers
Piano - Vijay Iyer
Organ - John Medeski
Electric Keyboard - Matthew Shipp
Guitar - Nels Cline
Acoustic Bass - William Parker
Electric Bass - Steve Swallow
Drums - Matt Wilson
Percussion - Hamid Drake
Vibes - Matt Moran
Misc. Instrument - David Murray/Bass Clarinet
Male Vocalist - Mose Allison
Female Vocalist - Luciana Souza
Composer - Ben Allison
Record Label - Pi recordings
Blues Artist - Joe Louis Walker
Blues Album - Joe Louis Walker - Witness to the Blues

Send comments to: Tim