Saturday, December 07, 2013

The Argentinian jazz website El Intruso asked me to participate in their year end poll. Much like the polls in Downbeat or Jazz Times, the poll was broken down by instrument. Here were my submissions:

 Musician of the year: Ivo Perelman
Newcomer Musician: Matt Mitchell
Group of the year: The Thing
Newcomer group: Mary Halvorson Septet
Album of the year: Bill Frisell - Silent Movies
Composer: John Hollenbeck
Drums: Ches Smith
Acoustic Bass: Adam Lane
Electric Bass: Bill Laswell
Guitar: Mary Halvorson
Piano: Matthew Shipp
Keyboards/Synthesizer/Organ: Herbie Hancock
Tenor Saxophone: Odean Pope
Alto Saxophone: Darius Jones
Baritone Saxophone: Mats Gustafsson
Soprano Saxophone: Evan Parker
Trumpet/Cornet: Peter Evans
Clarinet/bass clarinet: Ben Goldberg
Trombone: Jacob Garchik
Violin/Viola: Jeff Gauthier
Cello: Fred Lonberg-Holm
Vibraphone: Jason Adasiewicz
Electronics: Rob Mazurek
Others instruments: David Murray, bass clarinet
Female Vocals: Leena Conquest
Male Vocals: Theo Bleckmann
Best Live Band: The Bad Plus 
Record Label: NoBusiness Records

Send comments to Tim.