Thursday, February 20, 2014

Catching up with NoBusiness Records

NoBusiness Records is a small but scrappy music label based in Vilnius, Lithuania. They have grown over the past few years into into a major supporter of the avant-garde side of jazz, both in Europe and The United States, offering comprehensive reissues and contemporary projects on compact disc and LP. They can be reached by e-mail or through their website. This is a roundup of their most recent releases:

Daunik Lazro and Joelle Leandre - Hasparren This is a duet performance between Daunik Lazro on baritone saxophone and Joelle Leandre on bass. Recorded in southwestern France during 2011, this is very patient music that develops low textures over the course of a continually improvised performance that is nominally broken up into six parts entitled Hasparren 1-6. Just when they lull you into a false sense of calm, Lazro lets loose with a withering blast of sound just to keep you on your toes.

2° etage - Grey Matter This is a collective group made up of Jean-Luc Cappozzo on trumpet and bugle, Christine Wodrascka on piano and Gerry Hemingway on drums and percussion. Recorded in France during 2012, the music has a quiet and subtle flavor, with barely perceptible brass and percussion and scattered piano notes. After setting the stage, the musicians are building the proceedings to a more complex and swirling swing of their very own.

Kidd Jordan, Alvin Fielder and Peter Kowald - Trio and Duo in New Orleans This is a wonderful recording of a avant-garde jazz super-group consisting of Kidd on tenor saxophone, Fielder on drums and Kowald on bass. Consisting of three different sessions, all recorded in New Orleans, and as the title indicates the group plays as a trio on some tracks but also breaks off into different duo couplings as the music progresses. The recording waxes and wanes between raucous free jazz passages and subtle sections to excellent effect.

Mikołaj Trzaska, Devin Hoff and Michael Zerang - Sleepless in Chicago This a taught recording featuring the collective group of Mikołaj Trzaska on alto saxophone, Devin Hoff on bass and Michael Zerang on drums. This is a limited edition LP (300 copies available) and consists of two side-long tracks: “Elastic” recorded in 2011 and “Skylark” in 2012, they have the opportunity to spin out into open space and allow their performances to develop organically. You would hardly know that the two sides were recorded a year apart.

YAPP - Symbolic Heads YAPP is a collective band consisting of Bryan Rogers on tenor saxophone, Alban Bailly on guitar, Matt Engle on bass and David Flaherty on drums. Recorded in Philadelphia during December of 2011, this is a limited edition LP (300 copies available) and a quite melodic album. The music flows quite naturally and gently, coursing along plot-lines derived by the musicians who make a quietly powerful statement.

Send comments to Tim.