Friday, July 31, 2015

2015 Downbeat Reader's Poll Ballot

Downbeat Magazine’s Reader’s Poll follows its usual format of using a web-based survey, where they suggest a large number of musicians per category and than allow for write-in votes. Results should be published in their November issue.

Hall of Fame: Thomas Chapin
Jazz Artist: Matthew Shipp
Jazz Group: Henry Threadgill’s Zooid
Big Band: Rob Mazurek’s Exploding Star Orchestra
Jazz Album: Chris Lightcap’s Bigmouth – Epicenter
Jazz Re-Issue: Sonny Rollins w/ Don Cherry - Live at the Village Gate 1962 (write-in)
Trumpet: Rob Mazurek
Trombone: Jeb Bishop
Soprano Saxophone: Sam Newsome
Alto Saxophone: Rudresh Mahanthappa
Tenor Saxophone: Chris Potter
Baritone Saxophone: Mats Gustafsson
Clarinet: Anat Cohen
Flute: Henry Threadgill
Piano: Kris Davis (write-in) (WTF – how is she not on the ballot?!?)
Keyboards: Craig Tayborn
Organ: John Medeski
Guitar: Marc Ribot
Bass: Ben Allison
Electric Bass: Jamaaladeen Tacuma
Violin: Jeff Gauthier
Drums: Rudy Royston
Vibes: Jason Adasiewicz
Percussion: Dave Rempis (write-in)
Misc. Instrument: David Murray – bass clarinet
Male Vocalist: Theo Bleckmann
Female Vocalist: Jen Shyu (write-in)
Composer: John Zorn
Arranger: Ryan Truesdell
Record Label: Tzadik
Blues Musician: Gary Clark Jr.
Blues Album: Gary Clark Jr. – Live
Beyond Group: Sleater-Kinney

Beyond Album: Sleater-Kinney – No Cities to Love

Send comments to Tim.