Sunday, December 27, 2015

El Intruso - The 8th Creative Music Critics Poll 2015

The Argentinian jazz website El Intruso asked me to participate in their year end poll. Much like the poll in Downbeat, the poll was broken down by instrument. Here were my submissions:

Musician of the year: Jon Irabagon
Newcomer Musician Kamasi Washington
Group of the year: The Bad Plus
Newcomer group: Dave Douglas and Joe Lovano’s Soundprints
Album of the year: Chris Lightcap’s Bigmouth - Epicenter
Composer: John Zorn
Drums: Paal Nilssen-Love
Acoustic Bass: Joe Fonda
Electric Bass: Bill Laswell
Guitar: Mary Harvorson
Piano: Kris Davis
Keyboards/Synthesizer/Organ: John Medeski
Tenor Saxophone: Ken Vandermark
Alto Saxophone: Rudresh Mahanthappa
Baritone Saxophone: Gary Smulyan
Soprano Saxophone: Sam Newsome
Trumpet/Cornet: Rob Mazurek
Clarinet/bass clarinet: David Murray, bass clarinet
Trombone: Steve Swell
Flute: Henry Threadgill
Violin/Viola: Mat Maneri
Cello: Erik Friedlander
Vibraphone: Jason Adasiewicz
Electronics: Fred Lonberg-Holm
Others instruments: Mats Gustafsson, bass saxophone
Female Vocals: Leena Conquest
Male Vocals: Mose Allison
Best Live Band: Rob Mazurek/Exploding Star Orchestra
Record Label: Cuneiform

Send comments to Tim.