Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Year End El Intruso Poll

The editors of the music magazine El Intruso were kind enough to invite me to vote in their year end poll. 2016 was a wonderful year for music, so after much brow furrowing and head scratching, I came up with the following:

Musician of the year: Ken Vandermark
Newcomer Musician: Anna Högberg
Group of the year: LUME
Newcomer group: Damana
Album of the year: Cortex - Live in New York
Composer: John Zorn
Drums: Paal Nilssen-Love
Acoustic Bass: William Parker
Electric Bass: Jamaaladeen Tacuma
Guitar: Jon Lundbom
Piano: Matt Mitchell
Keyboards/Synthesizer/Organ: Jamie Saft
Tenor Saxophone: Ivo Perelman
Alto Saxophone: John Irabagon
Baritone Saxophone: Mats Gustafsson
Soprano Saxophone: Sam Newsome
Trumpet/Cornet: Rob Mazurek
Clarinet/bass clarinet: Anat Cohen
Trombone: Steve Swell
Flute: Nicole Mitchell
Violin/Viola: Mat Maneri
Cello: Fred Lonberg-Holm
Vibraphone: Jason Adasiewicz
Electronics: Ikue Mori
Other instruments: Heather Leigh, pedal steel guitar
Female Vocals: Leena Conquest
Male Vocals: Mose Allison (RIP)
Best Live Band: Made to Break
Record Label: Clean Feed

Check out Tom Hull's ballot here.

Send comments to Tim.