Monday, January 01, 2018

El Intruso -- 10th Annual International Critics Poll 2017 Ballot

El Intruso is a website in Spanish founded in 2005, which focuses on creative music, jazz and beyond, free improvisation, art-rock and all kind of experimental music.They asked music writers about their favorites in these categories:

Musician of the year - Ivo Perelman
Newcomer Musician - Kate Gentile
Group of the year - DEK Trio
Newcomer group - Irreversible Entanglements
Album of the year - Vijay Iyer Sextet - Far From Over
Composer: John Zorn
Drums: Gard Nilssen
Acoustic Bass: Mario Pavone
Electric Bass: Jamaaladeen Tacuma
Guitar: Ross Hammond
Piano: Matthew Shipp
Keyboards/Synthesizer/Organ: Jamie Saft
Tenor Saxophone: Ivo Perelman
Alto Saxophone: Rudresh Mahanthappa
Baritone Saxophone: Mats Gustafsson
Soprano Saxophone: Sam Newsome
Trumpet/Cornet: Nate Wooley
Clarinet/bass clarinet: Jason Stein
Trombone: Steve Swell
Flute: Nicole Mitchell
Violin/Viola: Mat Maneri
Cello: Fred Lonberg-Holm
Vibraphone: Jason Adasiewicz
Electronics: Ikue Mori
Other instruments: Jon Irabagon, sopranino saxophone
Female Vocals: Jen Shyu
Male Vocals: n/a
Best Live Band: Made to Break
Record Label: Clean Feed

Send comments to Tim.